Skip to content

Risky Business: Finding The Right Shoes For Work

July 15, 2010

Sorry for my lack of posting yesterday,  but work has been bussyyyy.  Speaking of work, everyone should have a great selection of work shoes to choose from.  I have found that since entering the work place I am constantly asking myself (on all clothing/accessory items not just shoes), “Can I wear that to work and on the weekends?”  The great thing about shoes is that  you SHOULD express your personality in your shoes.  So if you are looking to utilize your shoes for “double duty”- work and play- you are in luck!  

Depending on your work environment you may be able to pull off different kind of shoe styles.  Regardless, I feel work shoes fall in to the following categories: Heels,  Booties and Flats (I am disregarding boots right now because it is just too hot to think about wearing boots…but I promise come fall I will write all about my favorite boot styles!).  

Heels:  

Now, I am a big fan of wearing heels.  I am even a bigger fan of heels with a bit of a platform on the front so you aren’t straining your foot that much.    Try to  explore the world of color with your heels!  Who says you have to keep it to the boring old black and brown??  Whenever purchasing heels for work you should always keep in mind how high is “too high” for you.  While some women are fine in 4 in heels, some are not.  Sometimes a small kitten heel can go a long way with a pair of pants 🙂  And, if you are going to stick with the basics you should have a pair of black, brown and nude heels in your collection.  

Cole Haan- Eve Air Black Pumps $328

 

Joan & David - Flipp Pumps $200

 

Nine West- Bonfire $89

 

Nine West- Roca $79

 

Bandolino Berry $59

 

Booties:  

This is the baby of the boot and heel.  Booties, are often a way to “rock-a-fy” your work outfit in a way that doesn’t scream chains and metal hardware.  You can also get some more delicate styles.  I love to pair a cute bootie, with a simple skirt or dress.  

Nine West Verbenia $89

 

Diego Dolcini Ankle Booties $669

 

Vince Camuto Miki $129

 

Flats:  

The ballet flat is every working girl’s best friend.  While they are comfortable, they are still fashionable.  Whether you pair them with a cute sheath dress, or a pair of tailored pants they can tie any outfit together.  The best part is the come in so many different colors, and styles that you can find the right ballet flat for any outfit. I have one word of advice when looking for the right pair of flats: Make sure they have a supportive bottom!  If you walk as much as I do without a good sole on your shoe you will be wincing in pain really fast.  

Paloma Barcelo-Doris flat espadrille sandals $180 (These remind me of my mom)

 

Tory Burch- Romy leather ballerina flats $235

Jeffrey Campbell-Friday Grommet Ruffle Flats $84

 

Steve Madden- Ellyy $79.95

 

Sam Edelman Caper $99

 

Seychelles- Get Outta Town $80

The best thing about all of these styles is you can wear them to work and on the weekends.  Flats are great for a stroll though the park with your boy and dog (As I do on many of my weekends), and heels are great for a night out with the girls.  Enjoy the rest of Thursday,  I know I am since this is my “Friday” and my office is closed tomorrow…I know you are jealous! 

Ciao!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. mtf permalink
    July 15, 2010 1:39 PM

    Bummer – they didn’t have get out of town in my size……………………

Leave a Reply

