Skip to content

Items Of The Week: One Piece Swimsuits

July 13, 2010

Continuing with my newly started Tuesday tradition today’s post will be all about my obsession item or items for the week.  This week I am currently obsessing over one piece swimsuits.  I’ve been wanting to purchase a one piece swimsuit since last summer, and I am proud to say that this past weekend I finally did it!  It’s an olive-green one shoulder suit with some gold metal hardware on the arm strap.  I have come to  notice that  a one piece is  longer something you wear when you want to hide your tummy, or when you think you can’t pull off a bikini.   Many of the styles are reminiscent of the 40’s and 50’s but with a modern flare.  This is a great trend that can help flatter any body type.  I do have one word of caution however, in my search for a stellar one piece, I have found that even the skinniest ladies may look a bit larger if you try on a suit that has a crazy print all over the body.  That being said my suggestion would be to look for sold colors with designs just along the top.

Here are some of my “to die for” selections: 

Michael Kors- Gathered Maillot Swimsuit $168 (My new addition!)

Anthropologie- Gleaming Pewter Maillot $168

Anthropologie- Accommodating Maillot $188

Anthropologie- Showstopper Maillot $125

J Crew- Peach-print bow bandeau tank $80

The  beauty of a once piece is that you can really play up the accessories.   An arm full of bracelets would tie the whole look together.

Try these options for bracelets (I think gold works best in the sun):

 

Kendra Scott- Lucca Filigree Bangles in Gold-Tone $90

Kendra Scott- Salome Cuff Bracelet in Gold-Tone

Global Girlfriend Triple Banlge Set - Brass $14.99

I have officially made myself want to get up from my desk and head out to the beach, which is unfortunately hard to do in D.C.   Tomorrow: shoes to wear to work (as per request from one of my co-workers!).

Ciao!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 2:55 PM

    Omg, I really really love your new swimsuit!! I keep thinking about purchasing a one piece b/c they all look so fun and flattering. 🙂 But Ian says I’ve maxed out my swim suit budget this summer. lol!

Leave a Reply

