Skip to content

How To Guide: Rompers

July 12, 2010

I know Monday is not the best day of the week, and no one  is  that thrilled to be back at their desks working away at their computers.  Just think only five  more days until it’s the weekend again!  As promised on Friday today’s post will be all about rompers.  I love the romper trend!  I was all for it when they emerged on the fashion scene a few seasons ago and have a few in my wardrobe as we speak.  I have tried to convert all of my friends over to Team Romper, and slowly but surely they are crossing the line.   I think they are cute and way to keep cool in the summer.  HOWEVER… there are some things I think every man, woman and child should keep in mind when purchasing a romper.  Here are my top 5 Romper Rules:

1. Never purchase a romper that is too tight:

When looking for the right romper for you I suggest getting one that not only is flattering around the tummy area (keeping in mine it is one large piece of fabric covering your body it needs to hug in the right places) but gives you enough room to breath around the arms and legs.

2. Not everyone looks flattering in strapless:

Remember what looks good on you people.  If you aren’t someone who can pull off strapless dresses then you probably can’t pull off a strapless romper.  It is inevitable that because your shorts are attached to your shirt it will probably pull down a bit…need I say more?  But don’t fret!  There are many options with straps and sleeves that can leave you looking fabulous.

3.  Make sure the shorts give your thighs room to breathe:

There is nothing that bothers me more than when woman with a body that may not be a size 00 wear clothing that is too tight.  If you wear something that fits you will instantly look 10 lbs lighter.  This goes for shorts that are too tight!  Give your thighs breathing room.   My suggestion would be to look for a fabric that is really flowy, and almost looks like a dress at the bottom.

4.  A belt lower than your natural waist will make you look large and in charge:

Okay, now I know all of you out there with an itty- bitty waist you probably don’t have to follow this rule.  But for everyone else out there, may I remind you for the 100th time YOUR SHIRT AND SHORTS ARE CONNECTED! Therefore, if you wear a belt on a romper that hits you at the hips, you will look a few sizes larger than you are.  There are some very flattering cuts out there that pull in or belt in at your natural waist.  For most women that is the skinniest part of their body, and cinching it in there will give you nice flattering curves.

5. Have fun!

This fashion trend is made for experimentation.  If you are someone who doesn’t wear prints, go buy a romper that has a crazy design on it.  If you want to experiment with tons of accessories, buy a romper in a sold neutral color that can be your blank canvas.  Most importantly don’t take yourself too seriously when it comes to dressing yourself.

Here are some selections that I hope give you inspiration to go out and purchase a romper of your own!

South Moon Under- American Jersey Romper $96

Urban Outfitters- Pins and Needles Skirted Strapless Romper $48

Only Hearts- So Fine Keyhole Romper $74.20

Rachel Pally- Striped Jersey Romper $210

Tomorrow: Items of the Week.

Ciao!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 10:05 AM

    Men women and children? If Brian starts wearing rompers we are going to have to have a talk…

  2. mtf permalink
    July 12, 2010 5:33 PM

    You are wearing this to work when exactly………………………

  3. July 13, 2010 2:24 AM

    EXCELLENT post. I wanted to get into the romper trend for a while but I couldn’t find one that I thought looked good. But I was patient and waited and finally I found one that I love. It’s not only an adorable trend, but insanely comfortable!

Leave a Reply

