Skip to content

Items Of The Week: Beat The Heat

July 6, 2010

Happy Tuesday everyone!  If you live on the East Coast, like I do, you all know we are in the middle of a heat wave.  For all of you non East Coasters… I hate you right now.  For my first Items Of The Week post I thought I would create an outfit that will help you stay cool during the heat and still keep you office appropriate.  For anyone who knows me they know that I love the blazers.  So the trend of the boyfriend blazer, to me, is the best thing since sliced bread.  That being said, my favorite office outfits combine a fun, flirty, girly dress, with a not so girly boyfriend blazer.  I can’t handle too much “girlieness” at once, and when I do wear bright colors (which rarely happens, I’m more of a neutral color girl) I feel the need to tone it down with a black boyfriend blazer.  Now my advice to all of you out there would be to invest in a great versatile blazer, that you can pair with some great (but not so expensive) dresses.

Now you may spend a little more on a blazer then you’d like, but believe me the versatility of this item is well worth it!

Elizabeth and James Triple Pocket James Blazer $445

Try the blazer with a dress like this:

Mossimo® Black: Women's Draped Challis Dress - Green/Ebony $24.99

Add some heels like these:

Steve Madden Smartyy Pumps $79.95

Then add some chunky accessories:

House of Harlow Gladiator Cuff $55.00

Betsey Johnson Beetle Ring $35.00

This is my ultimate go to work outfit.   The best part is the cotton dress can be warn without the blazer on those hot commutes to and from work, and on the weekend for a backyard  BBQ.  The blazer you can wear year round to dress up a pair of jeans or shorts, and to work with a dress or slacks.  As for the accessories….well you can never have to many fun pieces of jewelry.

Hope you are staying cool during this brutal summer heat wave!

Ciao!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

